List of 2016 Official Holidays of the Philippines

We almost forgot about the holidays for this year, 2016 [update: see the 2017 official holidays]. It’s almost 6 months since the full list of Philippine holidays was released and we still have not uploaded it here. This is an important list because if you’re a Filipino, you’ll need to know when there’s no work and accordingly make travel plans way in advance. On the other hand, if you’re not a Filipino, you need to know when destinations are packed because domestic travel is up because of the declared non-working holidays. So, per Proclamation No. 1105, series of 2015, here’s the official list of the nationwide holidays for 2016:

January 1, 2016, Friday – New Year’s Day (Regular holiday)

January 2, 2016, Saturday – Additional special non-working day

February 8, 2016, Monday – Chinese New Year (Special non-working day)

February 25, 2016 – EDSA People Power Revolution (Special non-working; per Proclamation No. 1071, s. 2015)

March 24, 2016 – Maundy Thursday (Regular holiday)

March 25, 2016 – Good Friday (Regular holiday)

March 26, 2016 – Black Saturday (Special non-working day)

April 9, 2016, Saturday – Araw ng Kagitingan (Regular holiday)

May 1, 2016, Sunday – Labor Day (Regular holiday)

June 12, 2016, Sunday – Independence Day (Regular holiday)

August 21, 2016, Sunday – Ninoy Aquino Day (Special non-working day)

August 29, 2016, Monday – National Heroes Day (Regular holiday)

October 31, 2016, Monday – Additional special non-working day

November 1, 2016, Tuesday – All Saints Day (Special non-working day)

November 30, 2016, Wednesday – Bonifacio Day (Regular holiday)

December 24, 2016, Saturday – Additional special non-working day

December 25, 2016, Sunday – Christmas Day (Regular holiday)

December 26, 2016, Monday – Special (Non-Working Day; per Proclamation 117)

December 30, 2016, Friday – Rizal Day (Regular holiday)

December 31, 2016, Saturday – Additional special non-working day

January 2, 2017, Monday – Special (Non-Working Day; per Proclamation 117)

Expect more holidays — either exisiting holidays with movable dates or special holidays as may be declared by the President.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *