Inauguration of President and Vice-President on 30 June 2010

It’s all set for the inauguration of the 15th President of the Republic of the Philippines, Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III, on June 30, 2010. Also to be inaugurated together with President Noynoy Aquino is Vice-President Jejomar “Jojo” Binay. Both received the highest number of votes during the May 10, 2010 national and local elections and were simultaneously proclaimed by Congress on June 9, 2010.

See Inaugural Speech of Pres. Noynoy Aquino

June 30 a National Holiday

Would-be former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo declared June 30, 2010 (Wednesday) a special non-working holiday through Proclamation No. 2085, which states that “it is fitting and proper that all citizens of our country be given full opportunity to witness and welcome this historic event in the life of the nation.” This is not exactly a long weekend, preferred by those who want to take a 3-day vacation, because the non-working holiday falls on a Wednesday.

Venue of Inauguration; Traffic Rerouting

The inauguration, which starts at 11:00 a.m.,  will take place at the Quirino Grandstand in Manila City.  The theme of the inauguration is “Tagumpay ng Taumbayan, Panata sa Pagbabago” (The People’s Victory, An Oath for Change).

Traffic  is expected to be heavy around the area of Quirino Grandstand, so better take alternate routes (either going to the harbor from the south, or to the airports from the north). The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) already announced that the northbound and southbound lanes of Roxas Boulevard and Bonifacio Drive from President Quirino to Anda Circle will be closed beginning 7 a.m. Wednesday.

Oath Administered by Associate Justice

The oath of office will be administered by Supreme Court Associate Justice of the  Conchita Carpio-Morales. The President and Vice-President are historically sworn in by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. However, President-elect Noynoy Aquino refuses to be sworn in by Chief Justice Renato Corona, by way of protest to CJ’s “midnight” appointment by outgoing President GMA. The Supreme Court, by majority vote, already decided that PGMA has the authority to make such an appointment.

Announcement of Cabinet

On June 29, a day prior to the inauguration, President-elect Aquino named the members of various departments and offices. The list includes:

  • Executive Secretary: Paquito Ochoa, Jr.
  • Foreign Affairs (DFA): Alberto Romulo
  • Finance (DoF): Cesar Purisima
  • Justice (DOJ): Leila de Lima
  • National Defense (DND): Voltaire Gazmin
  • Education (DECS): Br. Armin Luistro
  • Budget and Management (DBM): Florencio Abad
  • Agriculture (DA): Proceso Alcala
  • Environment and Natural Resources (DENR):  Ramon Paje
  • Transportation and Communication (DOTC): Jose de Jesus
  • Labor and Employment (DOLE): Rosalinda Baldoz
  • Health (DoH): Dr. Enrique Ona
  • Trade and Industry (DTI): Gregory Domingo
  • Tourism (DoT): Alberto Lim
  • Social Welfare and Development (DSWD): Corazon Soliman
  • Science and Technology (DOST): Mario Montejo
  • Energy (DoE): Jose Almendras
  • Public Works and Highways (DPWH): Rogelio Singson
  • Agrarian Reform (DAR): Virgilio delos Reyes
  • Presidential Management Staff: Julia Abad
  • Presidential Spokesperson: Edwin Lacierda
  • Presidential Legal Counsel: Eduardo de Mesa
  • NEDA: Cayetano Paderanga
  • Adviser on the Peace Process: Teresita Deles
  • Commission on Higher Education (CHED): Patricia Licuanan
  • Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR): Kim Henares

Maj. Gen. Ric David is named Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff, while Gen. Jesus Verzosa will remain as chief of the Philippine National Police (PNP).